Change of Vice-chair

Professor Ming-ko Woo (McMaster University) is retiring as Vice-chair of the IGU Commission for Water Sustainability.Ming-ko Woo

We wish to thank him most heartily for his excellent work for the Commission and the preceding Study Group over the last 8 years. He has been a most valuable colleague, always offering sound support and advice, despite his many other scientific commitments, especially to the Canadian GEWEX programme and as President of the Hydrology Section of the Canadian Geophysical Union. He will be missed. Fortunately, he intends to remain an active full member of the Commission.

Kazuki MoriWe welcome Professor Kazuki Mori as our new Vice-chair. Kazuki has also been a loyal member of the Commission and Study Group, and he played a crucial role in facilitating the Commission’s sessions at the World Water Forum in Kyoto in 2003. Amongst his other roles, Professor Mori has been President of the Japanese Association of Hydrological Sciences since 2004. He received the Meritorious Prize of the Japanese Society of Ground water Hydrology in 1994.